Assault / Battery
Assault and Battery Attorneys San Juan Capistrano
It Sucks to be Battered
The assailants also knocked Cefali’s front teeth out, which required porcelain replacements. The restaurant had no security and refused to call the police, and the assailants got away. Nothing ever came of it, and Cefali was forced to bear his own medical costs.
Cefali does not want what happened to him to happen to anyone else. If Cefali could have called Cefali & Cefali, APC, things would have turned out very differently. Cefali & Cefali, APC would have held the restaurant accountable for its shortcomings that night. Instead of having to pay thousands of dollars for medical bills, Cefali would have been receiving thousands from the restaurant on top of having his medical bills paid.
If you or someone you know is injured by security, or a lack of security, or a lack of lighting, or a failure to call law enforcement, or any other battery type situation, give Cefali & Cefali, APC a call. We will zealously advocate on your behalf, just like Michael wishes someone would have done for him.
Assault and battery in California are defined as unlawful touching of another person without their consent. This can include hitting, punching, kicking, or any other type of physical contact.
If you have been charged with assault and battery, you should contact an experienced lawyer as soon as possible. An attorney can help you navigate the criminal justice system and protect your rights.
Assault and battery can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor in California depending on the severity of the offense. If the victim sustains serious injuries, then it will likely be charged as a felony. If the victim only sustained minor injuries, then it will likely be charged as a misdemeanor.
The penalties for assault and battery in California depend on whether the offense is charged as a felony or a misdemeanor. If it is charged as a felony, then the penalties can include up to four years in prison and a fine of up to $10000. If it is charged as a misdemeanor, then the penalties can include up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2000.
Some possible defenses to assault and battery charges in California include self-defense, defense of others, and consent.
You will be charged with assault if the prosecutor believes that you acted with the intent to cause bodily harm to another person. You will be charged with battery if the prosecutor believes that you actually caused bodily harm to another person.
You can try to get assault and battery charges against you dropped by negotiating with the prosecutor, arguing self-defense or defense of others, or raising other legal defenses.
The difference between aggravated assault and simple assault is that aggravated assault is a more serious charge because it involves using a deadly weapon or causing great bodily injury.
The statute of limitations for assault and battery in California is two years from the date of the alleged incident.
No, you are not required to go to trial. You may be able to resolve your case through plea bargaining or by participating in a diversion program.
Tell us about your legal inquiry via contact form, and we’ll call you back to schedule an appointment.
For immediate response,
please call us at (877) 423-3254: